Kyle’s Quest for Ironman
Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 7th Update

Just did the 40 mile ride at the Head for the Hills rally in Cedar Hill. It’s not the best rally, but not the worst. We had great weather minus the wind and free burgers afterward, so I won’t complain too much. I also got to see a good friend from TNT who helped me get into triathlon then spent a short bit of time with Whit and her parents who were shopping in the mall there before I headed home to shower and rest before making our appearance briefly at prom for the kids I teach. Last week I did the 40 miler at Muenster’s German Fest with my friend from work and I highly encourage that ride for others in the future.

I have a lot of rallies planned throughout the summer, especially in June. I will hopefully be up to 65 miles by the end of this month and 100 by the end of June (doing the century at the Cow Creek Country Classic on June 25th). If you want to know other rallies I’m doing let me know!

I’m also doing the 20K (12.4m) on Memorial Day at the end of May and hope to be back up to around 16 miles running by the end of June.

Due to tweaking my shoulder at the mud run, I haven’t been swimming for the past month – but I don’t think that is the end of the world. It will keep me from doing the X50 as planned, but that’s okay. I plan on trying to start swimming again this next week and we’ll see how it does. I still have plenty of time and I’m more concerned with it being healed by the start of June than getting pool time in now.

Overall, I feel like I’m pretty close to where I need to be to do the 140.6 Iron distance race at the end of September. I should have a pretty solid base leading into the summer months off of work which should let me train like I want. The main thing will be staying healthy and injury free.

Thanks for reading, I’ll hopefully be updating this more as race day starts getting closer.

2 Responses to “May 7th Update”

  1. Rock! How is your shoulder now? I’m glad you’re going to be able to do X50!


Leave a comment